LIFE & TIMES: 2015, Lux Ex Tenebris

hettybl

2015 wasn’t all good things all the time, but it was a marked improvement on 2014 (aka the year I thought I might just die from unhappiness.) 2015 maybe wasn’t the year that everything fell into place, but things fell into some kind of different arrangement, and it’s one I like.

Violet turned 5! This has been my favourite age with her; we have the best laughs and great conversations but she still needs me to cuddle her and sing Twinkle Twinkle to her at night. I’m always so aware that these precious moments have expiration dates.

I graduated then started a Masters. Graduating was an enormous triumph for me; I mean, in the second half of 2014 it didn’t look like it was gonna happen. I was teetering. Eventually I got better, and I feel like a different person now, like 2014-HBL wasn’t even me.

Leaving behind 2014 baggage meant leaving behind mindsets, habits and people because in order to survive, I had to choose my battles wisely. Now, I put my strength into things that are worth fighting for, and I am much happier. I don’t feel confused and left out, stressed and out of control any more. So, although I didn’t take dramatic leaps forward in some ways, I made progress this year that has improved my quality of life and I appreciate what I have so much more.

Born this way,

Hetty

TwitterInstagramTumblrPinterestYouTube

Leave a Reply

