THE HUSTLE: Minimal Me

the hustle minimalist budget

Welcome to a new series of blog posts, of which I will probably write and publish at least one! I’m calling this series The Hustle and it’s going to be all about how I am technically a poor person and how I want not to be.

I have enough money to live, and virtually everything I want, within the limited parameters of day-to-day purchases. I do not, however, have any real savings. I do not have money to travel, drive or give me security in the future. Pretty irresponsible, I know. I just always thought I didn’t have enough money to save, until I read this quote: Do not save what is left after spending, but spend what is left after saving. Ok, this is pretty simple and probably second nature to most people. But it was a kind of epiphany for me; the thought had simply never occurred to me. So, I am going to be prioritising my neglected savings account and buying a lot less.

I’ve already started making some changes to my spending habits over the last few months, because I simply have too much stuff. I’ve been slowly chipping away at the clutter (the hidden and the on-display) for weeks, because my flat simply isn’t big enough to house it all. Honestly, if I could have have back all the money I’ve ever spent on magazines that were hardly opened and clothes that were never worn, I’d be well on my way to a deposit for a house. It feels like a wrench to get rid of these things though, because that’s like admitting that it really is money down the drain.

I’ve been good though, I haven’t added to my wardrobe at all this month, and the only purchases I have made are the absolute essentials like new cushions for the settee and the Topshop Chameleon Highlighter which I needed*.

And I have taken a few tentative steps towards sorting out my situ:

– I’ve started reading The Minimalist Budget: A Practical Guide On How to Save Money, Spend Less and Live More With A Minimal Lifestyle by Simeon Lindstrom. I bought the Kindle edition because it was the cheapest version, and it won’t add to the clutter. Go HBL!

– I’ve started saying “No” to Violet. Yes, actually!

– I have QUIT San Pellegrino Aranciata and Marks and Spencer ready meal banquets, which will now be solely reserved for treats. I’ve also stopped eating every other meal in restaurants!

I am trying my best to spend as little as possible. Now, I need to think of ways to turn some of my unwanted stuff into money. I’m pretty good at donating stuff to charity, but I want to make money back on my pointless purchases where I can. How can I do that? Suggestions welcome!

Also, if anyone knows of any personal finance resources such as websites or blogs, I would really appreciate being pointed in the right direction.

Born to be wild,

Hetty

*I went for the Standard Click and Collect delivery option which was FREE. I waited FIVE days for this, to save £2. See, I’ve changed!

TwitterInstagramTumblrPinterestYouTube

Leave a Reply

