LIFE & TIMES

hettybl graduation

Truth time. I can’t deny that graduating was a total anti-climax. By the time the big day rolled round I had already been applying for jobs for several weeks, receiving rejections on a daily basis and becoming increasingly insecure about my future. I wasn’t just applying for graduate positions either; I applied for and was turned down for many, many entry-level roles. Jobs that I could do in my sleep, but jobs that I would have been thrilled to even interview for.

I’d always imagined myself studying for a masters while working, and in several years time. But, with a lot of support and encouragement (and a bit of resignation that I can’t spend the rest of my life doing nothing), I made to the decision to go ahead and investigate postgraduate degrees. Within a few days I had applied to study Purchasing and Supply Chain Management MSc, and wildly, my application was successful.

So, back to university I go.

The last couple of months have been shrouded in, at best, apathy, and at worst, negativity and pessimism verging on doom. I kept thinking, “But this was the year that everything was supposed to fall into place!” I felt like a bit of a failure, as after four years studying I was in exactly the same place I was before I started my undergrad. I can’t say for sure if the jobs markets will have stabilised in Aberdeen by the time I graduate as a MASTER OF SCIENCE, but I feel hopeful again for the first time in months. I know it won’t be easy, but I feel like this is right for me. I’m going my own way.

Big love to the ones who believed in me when I didn’t believe in myself.

Born this way,

Hetty

TwitterInstagramTumblrPinterestYouTube

